top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCyril_writes_a_thing

'Wuflu' is my preferred term (An Asian on COVID-19 names and racism)

Lol I love Wix, it won't let me share Medium posts here. Google, meanwhile penalizes when you content is the same on two different sites (doesn't stop listicles from doing that though! See my previous post). I'll complain in full in another post, but for now, please go to my Medium page to read this politically charged article about racism, black humour and social justice (?).



And here's a sneak peak: "The Easter Holidays were coming up. Memes making fun of the virus in the Mainland were going viral in Hong Kong, all of it laced with an understanding that we’d get hit soon. The Medical Workers’ Union had announced they would strike if our open border with China was to stay open.

I met some friends in our office for a project meeting during Easter. ‘I haven’t heard anyone call it Wuflu’ my friend said ‘I’ve been calling it Fluhan’. ‘Really?’ I replied ‘but Wuflu is so much better’. ‘It’s a little too fun sounding, right? Like woo! flu!’ ‘That’s the idea. And it rolls off the tongue better’.

It was around the same time that some disturbing news about Asian discrimination abroad came down the vine.

‘Singaporean student gets beaten up in London after being called Coronavirus’. ‘Thai man is robbed after being called the flu’. ‘Australian Chinese man dies after a heart attack. No one wanted to touch him in case he had the coronavirus’." ----- TL;DR: Don't be racist, but be aware if you might be enabling racists. We're all in this together.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Writing 'non-serious' listicles

You know, I've always had something against writing listicles. For the most part, the stuff you find floating around the wide, world web is pretty shit. Some of it is written by passionate people wh

bottom of page